As it happens in real life, on social networks like Facebook, Instagram or any other, we make new friends and other friendships are no longer part of our lives. It is for this reason that there is the “unfriend” button on Facebook or the “unfollow” button on Instagram and Twitter, which would be like not seeing or talking with a friend from the past in the real world. So, in this article we will explain how to unfriend someone on Facebook.
What happens when you unfriend someone on Facebook
First of all, we will explain what happens when you decide to stop following someone on Facebook, so that you understand what this implies. Let’s say that when you unfollow someone on Facebook, it means that from that moment neither you nor he can see the profile of the other, unless you become friends again in this social network.
So, we are saying that not only he will stop seeing your photos, your publications and everything you share, but you will also stop seeing everything he uploads and writes on this platform.
It has to be mentioned that the other person will not find out that you have stopped following him, unless one day he decides to look for you and see that you are no longer friends on Facebook. This is because when a you decide to unfollow someone on Facebook, the other person also unfollows you. Facebook doesn’t ask the other person if he agrees or not with this; Facebook does not ask the other person if he agrees with this; it simply break this friendship.
How to unfriend on Facebook
You have two options to remove friends from Facebook. The first way to do it is to go to the search engine that appears at the top of the platform and write the name of the person you want to delete from your Facebook friends.
Once you have found this person, click to access his Facebook profile. Then, click on the “friends” button (you can see it in the following screenshot).
From the dropdown menu, you must select the option “no friend” to remove this friend from Facebook.
And this is all you have to do to remove someone form Facebook. As you can see, now the “friends” button has changed to the “add friend” button, which means that you are not friends anymore and if you want to be friends, you have to add him again.
This is the first way to do it. The other way is to go to your Facebook profile and click on the “friends” button.
At this moment you will be shown the entire list of friends. Here, you can use the search box at the top right of the list (where it says “search for your friends”). Once you have found the person you want to stop following, click on the “friends” button next to him.
From the dropdown, you have to select the option of “unfriend” to remove the friend from Facebook.
And this is it. Then the “add friend” button will appear to confirm that you are no longer friends.
We hope that this article has been useful for you and that you have been able to unfriend on Facebook all the people that you wanted to.